Looking Back… and Ahead

By Anika Matsumoto, senior

When people would tell me that senior year flies by particularly fast, I just nodded my head in acknowledgment but never really soaked the idea in. Now that I am a month away from wearing my cap and gown, accepting my diploma, and sitting amongst students I’ve known for four and/or maybe plus years, it really makes me think about all the experiences that Beaverton High School has given to me.

Before entering freshman year, I remember I had no exposure to high school life besides movies like high school musical and tv shows like suite life on deck. I didn’t really know what to expect. It honestly is pretty much a blur to me but I do remember dreading doing wiley words in Lit and Comp 9 and getting stress acne from trying to find a perfect Homecoming dress. I recall being 4”10 and nervously sweating when springtime came around and softball tryouts happened. I gave all my efforts to try and make the varsity team and was so proud that they prevailed because I was awarded a varsity letter that year.

During sophomore year, I befriended three exchange students and the entire school year was full of fun memories with them. They were not familiar with America and it’s culture so for my friends and me to be able to introduce them to the Oregon and be a part of their experience on the exchange, it was super cool. They all went back to France at the end of the school year but we all still keep in touch, texting, and Facetiming every so often.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 12.00.11 AM

Junior year was where things started to shift. It was a year before my last which meant it was time to prep for leaving my nest in Beaverton for good ol’ higher education. It scared me a little. At the time, I was having a lot of trouble with deciding if I wanted to continue playing softball in college or not. The college experience was really appealing to me since I had been dedicated to my sport for almost a decade and missed out on a lot of things that non-student athletes did. However, after attending a few college exposure tournaments and meeting with other softball gals and coaches, I realized that I had a passion for the sport that I would dearly miss if I ended it before college. Thus, I made the decision to work hard to get an athletic scholarship to play softball in college!

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 11.59.46 PM

In the middle of senior year, I was recruited to play softball Marshalltown Community College in Marshalltown, Iowa and attend school on scholarship, which I signed a contract to accept. It was such a monumental moment for me, and I am grateful to my friends, family, and coaches for helping me.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 9.43.31 PM

This year I got to manage Week of Wishes and joined student leadership. I also helped organize senior sunrise, hosted the picture/party location for seniors before the Sadie Hawkins dance, went to the Chiles Center to support boys basketball in the state competition, and attended my first and last Beaverton High School Prom. I wouldn’t trade my time with Beaverton High for anything in the world. We have such an amazing family and being able to demonstrate our personality and traditions together is something I will never forget.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 12.01.00 AM

A month before I wear my cap and gown, accepting my diploma, and sitting amongst students I’ve known for four and/or maybe plus years, it really makes me thankful for the experiences that Beaverton High School has given to me.

Leave a comment