Senior Top 5: Oliver Brown

IMG_5796.JPG

1-Prom: I thought I would get the cliché answer out of the way first. If you have read any other of these senior blogs I am sure you have heard the evolution of Prom night: from picking up your date and exchanging boutonniere and corsages, to the endless number of pictures taken at Anna Ricci’s, dinner and then the dance. The sum of these events is fun. But the reason Prom is in my top 5 is because when I took a minute to stand still in all the commotion, I saw the people I had grown up with for the past 4, 7 or 13 years differently than I had seen them before. What did I see that was so revolutionary….? Well turns out, we are getting old. At Anna’s, it was seeing all of us dressed in a suit and tie. A suit makes 18-year old’s look surprisingly old. At dinner, it was humorously watching my friends attempted to use a knife and fork proficiently in front of their dates. And then when it came time to dance, it was seeing all my buddies find their dates, take them by the hand and dance. Slow dancing at prom may not seem crazy to you all but watching Lucas Radostitz (and the rest of the guys) endure 3 minutes of slow dancing is similar to watching a baby takes its first step. Once they take those steps a new chapter opens in a parent’s life, witnessing Lucas slow dance marks a new chapter in my life.

IMG_4307

2-Westview vs. Beaverton Football: I’m not going to beat around the bush about this one…. I don’t remember a whole lot from this game. You may ask “How is it one of your top memories at BHS if you don’t remember?”… Well, first let me give some back story and then I will get to the memorable part. Beaverton had a very good football team this year, so did Westview. At Beaverton, we have a quite focal student section at games, at Westview they also had a very focal student sectionl. Well, for those of you who don’t know the High School Football Excitement For Friday Nights Game algorithm it goes like this: Good Opponent + Strong Opposing Student Section = Very Rowdy Game. So yes, as a senior class we were extremely excited for the game against Westview. The game got off to a slow start. With Beaverton down by 4 points, time becoming scarce, and with the ball in Westviews possession we were all getting a tad bit nervous. Okay, enough with the back story. The reason it was so memorable was because my friend Mataio Talalemotu. Mataio and I have known each other since Kindergarten at Raleigh Park Elementary. I have grown up with him the last 13 years and have got to know the kid rather well. Turns out that not only is he a good friend but is also quite the football player. Losing by 4 or so and the clock winding down Mataio made a play I may never forget. As the Westview quarterback takes the snap and drops back to throw, Mataio made some sort of smart football read. To be honest, I don’t really understand what that was but in the end he intercepted the ball and took it the end zone to score and put our team on top to win the game. However, the result was not the most memorable part. Rather it was seeing one of my childhood friend’s hard work and dedication pay off and therefore being able to bring a stadium full of Beaverton community members a smile and good memory. Thanks for the memory, Mataio.

IMG_4076

3-Westview vs Beaverton Basketball Chiles Center: The last two memories were long so I will keep this one sort… We made it to the Chiles Center for basketball. We played our arch rivals Westview the first game there. Close to 400 Beaverton students made the 40-minute commute to the game. We got the arena rocking. Boys went out there and won the game. We all went home with smiles on our faces. A PIECE OF ADVICE FROM ME TO YOU: Go to a Beaverton Basketball game. You will enjoy it.

IMG_5006

4-Social Media Trips: I had the pleasure to attended two Social Media Team trips over the past four years. My first one was in the fall of my junior year. Myself and nine girls from Social Media Team flew to Chicago and enjoyed Social Media Week Chicago. This trip was truly eye opening as a junior. I networked with some of the top proffesionals in their field and grew an understanding for how to get there. A CEO I met, Jason Peterson, continues to be a mentor and role model of mine to this day. Secondly, I had to fortune of attending New York Social Media Week this last winter. Once again, I met and established connections with people I would never have thought possible. I continued to learn industry trends and where it may be when I enter the workplace in 2021. Social Media Team and these conferences have given me a path and direction I am excited to explore as a career.

IMG_5797

5-The Vrodies: The Vrodies are my friends. The guys I have grown to call family here at BHS. I love my Vrodies with all my heart. These are the guys that I have made all my silly high school memories with. Those guys and all the people at BHS are the reason it is so special. If there wasn’t copy right in this world I would petition very hard to make BHS’ catchline, “The happiest place on earth” (besides pre-calc tests… those are not very happy).

Shout out Walt Disney, Mrs. Erwin and the Vrodies. Love you all and thank you for reading my horribly informal senior blog.

Leave a Reply

