Senior Top 5: Paola Hidalgo Cruz

Throughout high school I’ve gone through many challenges, experiences, met different people and enjoyed every moment. Before starting high school, I was afraid I wouldn’t graduate. I was also afraid of not making any friend and being lonely for the next 4 years. Luckily, I am on track to graduate, and I’ve met many different people and made friends. I also got to participate in different sports such as swimming, track and field, and rugby.

  1. One of my favorite memories in my four years of high school would be joining Rugby. It’s one of the last sport I imagined myself joining because it’s an aggressive sport and due to my size I was afraid to play. This will be my favorite memory because I tried something that was completely out of my comfort zone. I remember saying that I would join Rugby but I didn’t think I was saying it seriously. It wasn’t until I showed up to practice that I thought to myself “wow, I’m actually going through with this.”

    FullSizeRender

  2. I also enjoyed being part of the swimming team. It was my first competitive sport I  joined my freshman year and I was super excited because I always wanted to be part of a swim team. I remember waking up at 5 in the morning to go to my first practice, although it was super early I was excited. I enjoyed getting to meet my team members and watching everyone compete. I only did swimming for two years because I didn’t like getting on the blocks to dive. It freaked me out and gave me anxiety. Although it was my least favorite part of swimming I always felt proud that I would face my fear. That’s when I realized that facing your fear is probably one of the most terrifying and liberating feelings in the world.

    Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.58.49 AM

  3. Another sport I participated was Track and Field. It’s one of the sports I most enjoyed being part of because it’s pretty exciting to watch everyone race. I liked to see everyone working hard to beat their own PR and each other. What I enjoyed the most was when the weather would get nice because it meant not running in the cold rain with only a tank top and small shorts.

    FullSizeRender (2)

  4. Going to prom was probably the most exciting events I have attended in high school. In all of my four years at BHS, I never attend any of the dances because I thought it was too much work to look for a dress, do the makeup, find the perfect shoes and jewelry. I was simply too lazy to go through the hustle so I never attempt to join. Since prom was such a big deal I decided that I would go. I enjoyed spending time with my friends and my prom date.

    FullSizeRender (1)

  5. Beaver Nation Migration was also another activity to wait for my senior year. I didn’t purposely wait until senior year to participate I simply wasn’t interested in doing this activity because my friends didn’t do it. It wasn’t until senior year that they decided to join and so did I. Participating in this event was pretty fun. I liked walking and spending time with my friends.5A93E2A2-AB3E-4563-A729-CAFCF3A5C698
Leave a Reply

