Senior Top 5: Gabi Peoples

Being able to have been a part of Beaverton High School has been a bitter sweet journey for me. I’ve made so many incredible, unforgettable memories since the first time I stepped on campus. I thought that transferring as a senior, and coming back to the place that I only knew as a little girl was going to be difficult for me, but I can truly say that even though I have only had the honor of being Beaverton Beaver for a year… it’s felt  like I’ve been walking through those doors since I was a little awkward freshman.

When I was younger I used to always walk over to BHS and watch the football games with with my pal Celia Boyer when we were tiny elementary school kids. And looking over at that rowdy, supportive, crazy big student section I knew that Beaverton was the place for me when I got older. Now being able to have been in that sea of loud spirited kids has been a highlight of my high school career. The love and support that we all have for our fellow classmates really shines through in that vast expanse of orange and black bleachers.

IMG_7562IMG_8047

Finishing my senior volleyball season here at BHS was truly amazing. Regardless of the outcome of the season, I had never been on a team with such great people. People who chose to lift one another up and fight through the rough spots as a whole, we never gave up. It was always so much fun having dance parties in the team room before home games, laughing and making memories. I can honestly say that I have made friends for life just by spending one season with those crazy, wacky, hilarious girls.

IMG_7669

Spending my senior homecoming here was so much fun, I don’t think I have ever danced so hard in my entire life. Screaming and jumping up and down in a hot, humid circle of teenagers couldn’t have been more enjoyable! I wish I could go back to that night and press pause. Those are the moments that high school is all about. Sharing smiles and laughs with those who you will never forget. Being with the people you’ve spent each and every day of your high school journey walking the halls of Beaverton five days a week for the past four years of your life.

IMG_7709

One of my biggest moments within my high school career is being able to sign to play Division I college volleyball at San Diego State University. Being able to share that moment with all my fellow classmates and my family and friends was truly and honor. I know that I wouldn’t be where I am today without the love and support that Beaverton and the community has given me. And it was unforgettable to be able to celebrate this accomplishment with all of you and I am so thankful I get to carry on my athletic career and continue to get an incredible education for these next four years.

IMG_7723

Beaverton has provided me with so many friendships and experiences that I will cherish for the rest of my life. Being here has taught me a lot about myself. I’ve grown into the person I am today and I am forever grateful to this community of incredible people who have stood behind me through this journey. Thank you, Beaverton, for all you have done for me and for all the beautiful moments and remarkable people who I have had that privilege to meet.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

