Senior Top 5: Carla Martinez

It was in between finding out my first high school schedule and attending my last high school dance that some of the best moments flew by without me noticing. I became so caught up in the moment to realize that some of the most memorable years of my life were flying by. To be honest though, I would not want it any other way. I enjoy living in the moment and not worrying about what was next to come. Some of my favorite memories happened with my friends, others with my classmates and others with my teachers.
The first time I realized I had just had attended one of my favorite and last events was when myself and my Sports and Event classmates organized Jam the Dam working with Week of Wishes. It was everything from the 8’ft Chewbacca to our Wish kid handing out stickers to our big win against Southridge High. Jam the Dam is one of my favorite events because it is not only  students attending a basketball game, it is so much bigger than that. It is a community full of love working together to raise money to help a Wish Kids’ dream come true. Although attending every Jam the Dam game was amazing, actually planning it and being further involved was an extraordinary feeling.
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 10.35.58 AM
Another one of my favorite memories from my high school year was attending Prom with all my friends. Being on Prom Court pushed to be closer with people I would have most likely not gotten close to otherwise. Dress up days were so much fun because it made you step your creativeness up a notch. Prom itself was a night of joy and endless laughs. Watching my graduating class all come together to celebrate one of our mile stone marks was an overwhelming feeling of gleefulness, realization, success and every other good feeling you could experience around those you care for.
Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
I remember trying to get my permission slips turned in the last second and waiting outside the bookkeepers window after Beaver Lodge just to get my tickets for Beaver Nation Migration. I do not know if it is because we all dress in pink or because everyone comes together to make a stand in another territory that makes it so much fun but it is by far one of my most awaited times of the year for me. There is something about watching every grade from the freshmen to seniors walk the streets and having cars honk at us as an action of support that sets you up for an even better time at the football game.
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 10.35.46 AM
I have never felt a bond stronger between my classmates and my teachers than when our marketing class took a trip to Anaheim, California. It was the conversations that happened while waiting for flights, the laughs we shared during so many Disney rides and the questions that were brought up through our Disney Youth Education and Hurley Headquarters tour that made this trip one of the most magical times of my High School Experience. I can not put into words my gratitude for both my marketing teachers that made this trip possible. Being able to have gone to Anaheim with Mrs. Robinson and Mrs. Ramberg was perfect because of how much trust they had in their students and how much knowledge they had on the setting we were in. My favorite part was watching both my friends and my teachers have fun together.
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 10.36.13 AM
If I had to give advice to underclassmen it would be to be as involved with your school as you can and explore new friends out of your friend circle. Also I would recommend to do everything to the best of your abilities and enjoy the moment; don’t worry about the outcome because the stress from events that haven’t happened could affect the proficiency in your present work.
Leave a Reply

