Senior Top 5: Jamie Sweatman

My high school experience has been a series of ups and downs but, overall, I wouldn’t of had it any other way. I got the amazing opportunity to play basketball with friends I will have for the rest of my life; I had amazing teachers who were very supportive and helped throughout my four years; and I met tons of new people that I will stay in contact with after my senior year is over. If I were to make a top five high school moments, it would include these things.

 

1-3. Without basketball, I would not be in school. It has kept me motivated and has given me a drive to be focused academically. Being a Beaverton basketball player is being part of something bigger than yourself. Basketball is my passion. I can always go to it to calm me down in times where I feel overwhelmed. I was very blessed to have Andrew Vancil, my basketball coach, come into my life and help me during all four years. He helped me stay positive in times where things weren’t looking so well. He is someone I see as a second father. After hours and hours of hard work, we became back to back Metro League CHAMPIONS and took fifth place in state. Winning the Metro League my junior and senior year and making it to the Chiles Center are three out of my five things.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 1.33.21 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-05 at 1.33.03 PMIMG_0066

4. Next was the football games. Being on the basketball team, this was my only real time to be in the best crowd in the state of Oregon. Beaverton’s crowd can be described as electric, ruthless, and dedicated. Being at those games were some of the most fun I’ve had in high school. I learned more and more throughout high school that the entire experience becomes so much better as you become more involved with the school and partake in activities. I would kill to be able to be in Beaverton’s football crowd just one more time.

IMG_3758

5. Lastly, the dances. Seeing everyone dressed up and looking their best is a cool experience. I’ve been to other school dances and I can confidently say that there aren’t any other better dances than Beaverton’s dances. Instead of a bunch of different groups, everyone is all in one big group and interacting with each other. It’s very special that everyone can act themselves in an uncommon environment and not have to worry about being judged.

IMG_2325

Being part of Beaverton High School is special. It’s way more than just a high school, it’s a family. Waking up at six in the morning is never fun for anyone. But waking up at six to reunite with your Beaverton family makes it a lot more easier. I have enjoyed my time at Beaverton, and it is very bittersweet to flip to the next page in my life. But I know I can always come back and be greeted with smiles from teachers and keep my close relationships with my fellow peers. This is a very special community, and I was very lucky to be able to be part of it for four years of my life.

Leave a Reply

