Baseball Is Back.

By Stefan Franke, senior

As springtime in Oregon comes around, with it comes a lot of rain, but also comes baseball. Throughout my whole life, baseball has always been the root of a lot of happiness. It is the reason to look forward to winter, because winter just means that spring is coming as well. And of course, spring means summer is approaching fast. As a kid I always grew up around baseball. Watching my older brother and my friends’ older brothers play, listening to a Mariner’s game on the radio while I play catch in the street, or getting up at 6 A.M. to drive all over town for a double header. And no matter how tired I was, I never regretted it.

With my dad being a BHS Alumni, I always knew I would end up at BHS, and I have always excited about it. For as long as I could remember, I could not wait to be a part of the amazing community, and to be cheering in the student section as a student. I have also always always been connected to BHS because of baseball, which only made me even more excited to be paying with a black and orange B on my hat, knowing I would be representing my school whenever I wear it out. I first started playing baseball when I joined Beaverton JBO. Beaverton JBO is the Junior Baseball Organization of Oregon, and I have nothing but good memories. For at least five or so years, I got to play ball with all of my closest friends, not only playing the game I love, but learning valuable new skills and making memories that will last a lifetime along the way.

Playing baseball for Beaverton’s youth program was also a great way to make new friends, and make friends that would be with me all the way to high school and even beyond high school. Many of the people I know at school, I have memories of being teammates with them. It has always been so cool to me to think that all of my friends and I used to be so little playing baseball together, and now seeing all of these same friends, and even myself, get ready to go on to college to do big things in life.

Blog 1.jpg

Baseball was always fun just being with all of my friends, but of course, taking first place in multiple tournaments and winning many other awards and achievements made it that much better. In the end, I thank the Beaverton baseball program for the good memories, valuable baseball and life skills, and all of the amazing friends that I made during my time as a player. Baseball will always hold a special place for me, and will always be the reason I actually look forward to winter.

Blog 2.jpg

Leave a Reply

