What I’ve Learned

By Ella Lambert, senior

High school is all about learning. This doesn’t just involve learning in a classroom. To me, high school is about learning more about yourself as a person: who you want to be, who your real friends are, what your dreams are… the list goes on. For me, answering these questions did not come easily, and although some of these questions may not be as easy to answer as others, my time at Beaverton High school has made me more confident in the person I want to be, and what my plan is to achieve my goals.

Coming to Beaverton, I was so nervous. It’s actually a little bit embarrassing but I think it’s a feeling that a lot of people also had their first few weeks of their freshman year. I wanted to make lots of friends and enjoy all of my high school experience. My sister was a junior at Beaverton when I was a freshman, and she helped me a lot with branching out and meeting new people, which I’m so happy I did. Through her, I was able to meet people in different grades from mine and be able to feel comfortable wherever I was in school because I knew I would at least know one person. The thing that sucks, but that is ultimately inevitable, is that your circle of friends seems to get smaller from freshman year to senior year. Some people might think this is a bad thing but to me, it’s not. People are constantly changing and developing as a person, ESPECIALLY during high school, so it’s only normal. The group of friends I have now are some of the best people I’ve ever met and have had a huge impact on me. Some I met in middle school, some I met freshman year, and some of my best friends I didn’t meet until the end of my junior year. These are the people who have really made my high school experience. They make me a better person and push me to work harder and be the best version of myself.

Blog Photo #1

Although a lot of learning comes from outside of school, there is a lot that goes on in the classroom. Lots of people grow up knowing exactly what they want to do when they grow up, but this was never the case for me. So many things interest me, and I love to learn more about things that I’m passionate about. High school was a great way for me to learn more about things that I found interesting. You need to take elective credit anyway, so why not break out of your comfort zone and try something new? Some classes I really enjoyed throughout high school where Photography, Criminal Law, and Leadership. All of these classes allowed me to learn great skills that even if i didn’t pursue a career in, would be great to have. Here is one of my favorite pictures I took in photography that I am really proud of:

Blog Photo #2

Other classes that have impacted my high school experience are my Marketing classes. Since sophomore year, these have been classes that have always caught my interest. There are so many different aspects of marketing which really appeals to me. I have decided that next year I am going take advantage of the Oregon Promise and attend two years at Lane before transferring to U of O to pursue a career in marketing. Every senior goes through a roller coaster of emotions during their last year of high school. Sadness that high school is gonna be ending soon but also excitement for the bright future that is ahead of all of us. I am so grateful for everything I have learned about myself while at Beaverton and am so grateful for all the amazing memories I will forever have from this school.

Blog Photo #3.jpg

Leave a Reply

