America’s (and My) Pastime

By Nick Uchida, senior
For as long as I can remember, I have been playing the best game in the world (in my opinion): BASEBALL! Growing up, I used to mirror the swinging stance of Ichiro Suzuki and sliding all around my living room like I was stealing bases. I’ve played a lot of sports in my life but baseball was just something else. I couldn’t be more thankful for this sport not only because of the learning experiences it has brought to me but the friendships that I have made.
Blog 2.jpg
In this photo, from the right, we have Jake Bunn and Callan McRae. I‘ve been playing baseball with these two since we were 8 years old playing for Murrayhill Little League! Kevin Watson on the left, we’ve been playing together since our freshman year of high school ball. The vast majority of the players on the high school team this year have either known each other or have played together from such a young age. In my opinion, this creates the best team chemistry. There is nothing better than having a team full of brothers that will have your back no matter what. Not just the baseball team here at BHS but I can say confidently that this team chemistry feeling is a common thing among other teams and other sports within our school. This is just one of the few reasons why I love and embrace the opportunity to represent the name across my jersey.
Blog 1.jpg
Any person who plays a sport knows that there is an immense amount of competition, everyone wants a starting spot. With this team, there are 16 players but you can only have 9 of them out on the starting lineup. Being one of those players who unfortunately doesn’t have a starting spot has been tough, to say the least, since it is my last year playing. I don’t have hard feelings against the player who won the starting spot though. Yes, I was upset and disappointed in myself but there is a bigger picture. One of our TEAM goals we set were to win a Metro League title and the ultimate TEAM goal is to win a State Title for our school! Baseball is a TEAM sport and there is no time to be upset and selfish. The biggest takeaway so far from this season has been that there is nothing more important than being a great teammate. Whether if that is if you are a starter or if you’re not, everyone has a role to play. I couldn’t be more thankful for my guys on this team. We push each other endlessly during practice and we always hold each other accountable.
This is probably the longest blog post I have ever written, and props to you for reading all the way through this. “Be confident, not cocky” – Varsity Head Coach Langton. It means a lot to the whole team to see people from the community showing up to our games and we couldn’t thank you enough. If you haven’t attended a game yet I strongly suggest you do! GO BEAVS!
Leave a Reply

