Dreams of Summer

By Anaya Sergeant, senior

With Spring Break over and done with, all I can seem to think about is summer. The warm weather and the beaches and the hikes…all the things that make summer so special every year. The time away from school gives us students a chance to explore and do the things we love to do. As we’ve grown older we have to take into account the summer jobs and the college prep, but making time to enjoy ourselves is SO important. Looking forward to this summer made me want to plan and come up with a list of all the places and things I wanted to experience…

  1. BEACH

One of the most popular destinations during the warm summer months, the beach is a place that always puts me in a better mood. Even if the Oregon weather on the coast isn’t cooperating, the beautiful ocean and the sand and the little shops make for a great day trip.

BEACH

  1. AMUSEMENT PARK

Last summer I went with both my family and my friends, and both times it was one of the best days of my summer. The greasy delicious food and the sun beating down on you while you go from ride to ride is unbeatable.

  1. COUNTY FAIR

I will always remember the days of piling into a car with my closest friends and blasting country music on our way to the fair. Once there, the rides and the animals made the day great and I’m a sucker for a good caramel apple.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

  1. HIKES

We are so lucky to live in a state with so many beautiful and scenic viewpoints and hikes to take. Some of the prettiest hikes I’ve ever been on have only been an hour or two from my front door. Going in a group and working your way to the top of the mountain or the end of a trail is gratifying and worth the sweat.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

  1. CONNECT WITH NATURE

Going along with number six, Oregon is beyond beautiful and taking advantage of the sunny days and staying outdoors is precious to me in the summertime.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

  1. GO ON SCENIC DRIVES

One of my favorite things in the world is playing the music I love and driving aimlessly for hours. Despite objections from my gas tank, the open road is full of adventures and letting my mind wander is priceless.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

     7. SWIMMING

With the summer sun pounding down on you, I love to take the time to dip into the cool water and submerge myself to take away the heat. I love to get my fair share of tanning in, but I can’t resist hopping into a pool.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

Leave a Reply

