A Worldly College Education

By: Alona Arneson

If you had asked me freshman or even sophomore year, I would’ve planned on going to Stanford for Pre-Law. As I continued to grow as a student and human being, this goal didn’t feel right. Coincidentally, in the midst of my confusion and impending deadlines, the decision to attend Long Island University Global fell into my lap.

img_8896

I received an email detailing a program where the applicant if admitted, had the opportunity to study abroad for four years of college while majoring in Global Studies. At the time, I wasn’t excited about staying in state and this unexpected possibility quickly transformed into something that could be my future. Suddenly, all at once, the plan to attend my four years of college in four different continents while earning my B.A. in Global Studies, fit into my life perfectly.

As of late December, I received acceptance to this program and in August, I will be starting my journey with an orientation in New York, and spending my first year in Costa Rica. From there, I will be living in Italy and Spain as well as Australia, with travel to many other countries.

img_8897

I’m a bundle of nerves and excitement, nervous about the new places and people, but at the same time, that’s what makes it the most compelling experience. My goal, coming back from this, is to not only acquire knowledge about different cultures and languages but also to be able to utilize that wisdom in a way that changes my perspective forever. And even further than that, I want to be able to impact the world on a deeper level, as someone once said, “The ones who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones that do it”.

LEARNING TRANSFORMS US.

Leave a Reply

