Try Something New? YES!

By Paola Hidalgo Cruz, senior

Throughout my three years of high school I have participated in two sports: swimming and track & field. I’ve never been part of any kind of sports team where you have to depend on each other to score. I had always wondered what it was like to be part of a team. During the summer, I got the chance to play Rugby; it’s a sport I never imagined myself playing and never thought I would join. I decided to join because I also wanted to do a sport during the summer and keep myself busy. I thought I needed to challenge myself and try something new, so I decided to play Rugby.

8100ecb8-9a2a-4e6b-b4be-f2d33b55b1cb

When I told my friend about joining Rugby, he thought I was signing myself up for suicide because  I’m a girl who only weighs 108 pounds. He knows my friends are tougher than I am and worried something awful would happen to me. I wanted to prove him wrong so I play for “Summer 7s” and “Fall 7s,” which was a great experience. For the first time, I learned what it is like to be part of the team, which is learning how to communicate with each other and help each other to improve our skills.

e41f0eb4-ce4b-400f-a689-88a144029b1c

What amazed me the most was that after all the aggressiveness that went on during the game everyone still got along. You would think that there would be some hurt feeling after knocking somebody’s air out or breaking their fingers, but everyone got along like nothing happened during the game. An example of this would be a time I tackled a girl down during a game. To start, I didn’t think I would be able to do it because this girl was bigger than me,  she had a lot more experience and she could’ve easily stiff-armed me. I was able to knock her down, which to my amazement was a lot easier than I thought. After the game there was no hurt feelings against each other everyone got along and were very supportive of each other. I love being part of a team where young women support each other and gets me excited to play Spring 15s.

image1

Leave a Reply

