Learning, Defined.

By Jason Sarmiento, BHS teacher AND alumnus

LEARNING TRANSFORMS US.

I grew up watching a TV show called Boy Meets World.  In the very last episode, the main characters say to their teacher, “We wanted to know if you had anything left to teach us.”  His response was, “Believe in yourselves… Dream… Try…. Do Good.”

In truth, I cannot remember what I learned in high school that had anything to do with math, science, English, social studies.  What I can remember were the lessons that I learned about myself.  I learned how to dream. I learned how to deal with adversity.  I learned how to manage my time.  I learned to leave a place better than you found it.  I learned how much impact a person’s actions could have on others.  At the end of the day, I learned who I was and how to be a better person.

blog

It was easy for me to fall in love with teaching.  I get the opportunity to teach others the same lessons that I learned in high school and throughout life.  Learning doesn’t have to be about content.  In fact, it is often the extra lessons that transform us in to who we are.  “Believe in yourselves… Dream… Try… Do good.”

Leave a Reply

