The Senior Year Checklist

By Nick Uchida, senior

LEARNING TRANSFORMS US.

Did you fill out your FAFSA?  Did you fill out the Common App? Did you apply to any colleges yet? These are the frequent questions asked in September and October.  My answer to these questions are Yes, Yes and Soon. Go me, right? Kind of, not really, I need to get on that. Getting the FAFSA and the Common App out of the way was a big weight lifted off not only my shoulders but off my parents’ shoulders as well. Applying to colleges, this is a pretty important step for my future.

University of Oregon is a school that I have been looking at since the 8th grade. I’ve always watched their football games on TV and, fortunately, have been to a couple as well.  My first visit there was in July. I went with my dad, and we got a tour around the whole campus.  Just being there was such a surreal moment, and thinking that this could be my future home for the next 4 years was pretty cool.

blog-2

Now finally, I have a shot at getting in. Before I began my whole application process, I had an image already about applying and I thought it would be a cakewalk… Boy, I was wrong.  There are so many things you need to fill out. Thankfully, I have great people surrounding me that are helping with this whole process. Fast forward a little bit, I have finished everything on my application except for the two essays which I am currently working on and perfecting.  I plan on applying early before the deadline November 1st just so I can get it out of the way and apply to other schools as well. One thing I’ve already learned from this process is that YOU CAN’T DO THIS ALONE. I’ve received help from teachers, my Aspire mentor, my counselor and my parents. It’s very important to get as much help as you can. And, trust me, it’s worth it.

blog-1

Leave a Reply

