By Anaya Sergeant, senior

COMMUNITY CONNECTS US.

During my time at BHS, I’ve learned more about what it means to be a community member than I would have ever imagined. Inside the classroom, there are so many teachers who are willing to go the extra mile to expand our knowledge. For me, personally, I’ve loved to read and write for as long as I can remember, and pushing myself to take AP Lang and AP Lit has taught me so much more than I could ever learn simply from writing at home. Other more challenging classes, such as math and science courses, have proven to be difficult, but I always manage to pull through. 

As a freshman, I began my high school experience not knowing much about my plans and who I wanted to grow into. As a cheerleader during my freshmen and sophomore years, I started out learning what it meant to be a team member and in a close community that supported one another. 

community-blog

The years have flown by, and I’m now starting my senior year, and I’ve gained so many life lessons I never would have expected to learn in this school. I’ve met people I’m happy to be surrounded by, and it’s made me be a stronger individual. I now know so much more about myself, and I have a clear idea of who I am and where I want to go. This would not have been possible if I hadn’t met the people who pushed me. BHS has given me the opportunity to grow as an individual who has the ability to be a team member who is able to be supportive and committed. A community is “a feeling of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests, and goals.” I’ve learned that as a student, we all want to succeed and belong, and I am now comfortable enough and strong enough to do my part for our school’s family. 

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

 

Leave a Reply

