The Last Day of 5th Grade

By Peter Vos, Class of 2016

LEARNING TRANSFORMS US.

I went to Highland Park for middle school but before that I went to Montclair Elementary, home of the Red-Tailed Hawks. Montclair was a relatively small school with around 300 kids from pre-k to 5th grade. I had attended Montclair since Kindergarten and my brother had attended it as well. Montclair was a very close-knit community, a lot like Beaverton except smaller, I remember many harvest festivals filled with ice cream sandwiches and games and sock hops filled with music and prizes. My mom was very involved in the school, she volunteered about once or twice a week and was President of the PTA for a time. It’s safe to say I was interwoven in the Montclair community and had a very strong connection with it.

image3

I had a lot of great memories at Montclair, field day at the end of every year, when we got to keep eggs in an incubator and watch them hatch and the circus talent show where Nick Vazquez did some fancy dribbling and got on the SportsCenter Top 10. And I’m sure there are a few that I can’t recall but I have nothing but good memories from my time there. One of my stronger memories was the last day of 5th grade. My family had moved during my 3rd grade year so instead of going to Whitford for middle school I was to go to Highland Park. I was the only person from my Montclair class that was going to Highland and I only knew 3 other kids who were going there, so my last day of 5th grade was pretty emotional.

image1

I lived too far to take the bus so my mom always picked me up and I remember not wanting to leave on that final day. The 5th graders had some sort of class party and celebration of sorts but I don’t recall that very well, although I’m sure it was a good time. I do recall wandering off after all my friends had already got on their buses and saying goodbye to all my old teachers and hugging them. I also remember evading my mother and shooting hoops at the basketball courts for about an hour after school was over, I didn’t want to leave that amazing community with all the friends I had made their and all the time I spent trying to make a name for myself. I was very lucky to have found another amazing community in Beaverton that was always supportive and went above and beyond to be the best at everything. I feel very similarly now, graduating High School. I’ve spent four years meeting new people, forging new relationships, bonding with my class and more or less making a name for myself. Although graduation is bittersweet, if my life after Montclair is any indication of how my life will be after Beaverton then I know I will find a great community and surround myself with loving people.

ozzy

Leave a Reply

