Senior Top 5: Peter Vos

By Peter Vos, BHS Class of 2016

COMMUNITY CONNECTS US.

5. Football Games

High School football games on Friday nights are a huge part of the beginning of each year. After four years, I am sad to say that the Friday night lights are behind me, but the team we had and the atmosphere we created as fans this past season was the best I’ve been a part of in my time at BHS. We only had 30 players on Varsity, which is not very many compared to most metro schools, and they played with a lot of tenacity and passion, enough so that they even made it to the quarterfinals of state. This year, we made it a tradition to have a “tailgate” of sorts, before every home game in senior lot, filled with music, food and a fun place for people to meet before games. I will definitely remember this past football season as a great high school memory, for how the team did and for how exciting it was to be a part of such a great student section.

Peter 1

4. a) Jam the Dam 2016

Jam the Dam is a huge factor that separates BHS from other schools. Other schools have tried to imitate our idea of collaborating with Make-A-Wish during a basketball game and raise money through sponsors and such, but frankly, no school compares to the one and only BHS Jam the Dam. Unfortunately, for the people who actually enjoy good basketball, we had to play Glencoe this year, but a win’s a win. The more exciting part is the waiting in line outside of Hottmann’s room right after school with music, chairs and snacks, with your friends, waiting to get your free t-shirt. Also this year, during the JV game, the sister of an opposing Glencoe player came over to the student section and told us to harass her little brother, #30. Since the game wasn’t very close, this was our game within the game. We booed the kid so hard whenever he would touch the ball and got silent after he passed it off. The administrators weren’t too fond of it after a while, so they told us to “stop booing #30”. So we did. And instead we booed every other Glencoe player who got the ball and were dead silent when #30 had it. Then the admin told us to stop again, so we cheered for every other player who got the ball except #30. We really got to this kid because I’m not sure he had more than 5 points. So, toward the end, we cheered whenever he got the ball. This was one of those times where something very impromptu turned out to work far better than something that was planned. Just another reason why I love being a part of the BHS student sections.

Peter 2

b) Rhythm Boys

Rhythm Boys is yet another BHS tradition that is unparalleled and it’s ridiculous and great at the same time. This is where the senior boys are taught a dance routine by our famous Rhythm B’s and we perform it at the halftime of Jam the Dam, full with crop top shirts, skirts and of course, fishnet tights. For practices, we split up into groups and we have 2 of the Rhythm B’s assigned to teach us, luckily we got two very very very patient girl’s assigned to be our teachers. My group, also known as “Team Skrrt”, had the most fun out of all the groups by far. The practices were filled with a lot of laughter and a lot of large games of “tag” throughout the school. The lead up to going out in front of 2,000ish people in those absurd outfits was very adrenaline filled. Although I was dressed like a fool, I felt very comfortable with my fellow seniors out there living up to the tradition.

Peter 3

3. Walk out #StandUpFG

This happened last Thursday, the 19th, and if you have any form of social media you most likely have some idea of what I’m talking about. Students of BHS walked out of school in a peaceful protest to support the school of Forest Grove that was doing a walk out of their own in a response to racist banners being hung in their school. I wasn’t in on the ground floor of this happening, but I noticed what was going on and jumped right in. One of the leaders of the movement was Manny Maciel, Manny was the Prom Prince of Kindness and subsequently Prom King. He is one of the most genuine people I’ve met and I would follow him almost anywhere. The protest was something that was done with good intentions and something that was widely recognized over multiple news outlets and to be a part of something like that is a memory that I’ll keep forever.

Peter 4

2. Tennis

I played tennis for the last three years at BHS, under the superb tutelage of one Matthew Hottmann, aka Hotty, but sadly it came to an end a few weeks ago. It’s pretty hard not to think about the end of my athletic career, but I gained so much in terms of friendships and memories from tennis, that I will always think of it and smile. Joining tennis was by far the best decision I have made in High School. Beaverton Tennis is more than a sport, it’s a lifestyle. We grew very close with one another during the course of a season and especially the 9 seniors we had, out of a total 18, because we all had been a part of tennis for so long. I’ll always look back on tennis and remember us as “The Cutest Team in Metro” and all the joking we did but more than that I’ll remember playing a sport I love and hanging out with some of my best friends everyday for 3 months each year.

Peter 5

1. Prom

Most of the other seniors have prom in their top 5 memories as well, so who am I break the trend? In all seriousness prom was a fantastic night and surpassed my expectations of what I thought my senior prom would entail. I had the most amazing date and danced all night with the rest of the senior class at the world trade center. I want everyone else to have the same fulfilling experience that I had so if other Juniors or underclassmen are reading this, I urge you to listen to my prom advice, make sure that you go with someone who you know you’ll have fun with because that’s the most important thing. Also, I would recommend staying until the end so you can have your special “Don’t Stop Believin’” moment with your whole class just like I did. Prom is an iconic time in most all High Schoolers lives, whether it’s good or bad, it’s something that most people remember no matter how many years have gone by, which is why I’m extra glad that mine was so great.

Leave a Reply

