Helicopter Ride? Why Not?

By Rianna Ayoub, junior

LEARNING TRANSFORMS US.

During Spring Break, I went to Seaside with my family and my friend, Jenny. Luckily, it was super nice outside, even though it was supposed to rain. My dad goes, “So what should we do today?” And I had the spontaneous last minute idea of going on a helicopter tour. To my surprise…. My dad actually said yes.

Now, technically, this wasn’t my first helicopter ride because I once rode on an Army chopper to escape from a war in Lebanon in 2006. But that’s a whole different story, so I’m just gonna try and stay on topic here.

This helicopter was pretty small. Only big enough for about 5 people. Not gonna lie, although it was my idea, I was pretty scared at first. But I figured because I was the one who got us in this situation I couldn’t exactly complain. It was pretty expensive too- $49/person for only 6 minutes! Is this guy crazy?

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset

Anyways, my dad, Jenny and I (my mom was too afraid to go) finally signed our waivers, got on the helicopter, put on our headphone speaker thingys, and we were ready for takeoff. The guy gave us a little overview and safety lesson, and before we knew it we were in the air.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I have flown overseas many times, but wow… this was like something I’ve never seen before. I’ve gone to the Oregon coast my whole life, but never have I seen it from this point of view. It was absolutely breathtaking. It made me feel so happy, so different. I couldn’t stop smiling. Our world is just so beautiful. If you’ve never been, I highly suggest you go on a helicopter tour on the Oregon Coast. It could really change the way you look at things.

Leave a Reply

