The Road to Recovery

By Tony Johnson, senior

TRADITION UNITES US.

Baseball season is just around the corner, and there’s nothing worse then being injured. It is my senior year and probably my last year of ever playing baseball, and all I want to do is end my career on a positive/ high note. For last year or so, I have been dealing with a serious shoulder injury, an injured rotator cuff. For me, being a pitcher only or – as baseball players say – PO, my shoulder is very important to me so I can pitch.

beav

When I first hurt my shoulder, I didn’t think it was that serious so I played through it and just made it worse. I remember, last summer, we were playing LO at LO and every off-speed pitch Ryan called, my catcher, I would shake him off and only throw fastballs because when I threw it would hurt insanely bad, almost to the point where I wanted to quit and go home. At that point, I thought I would never be the same. I  didn’t think I would be able to throw as hard, nor as accurately.

Lately, as in the last couple months, I have been in PT doing everything I can to get back on my feet and be able to pitch again. Just so I can throw I will most likely be wearing Kinetic Tape on my shoulder 24/7 until June so the pain is dull enough so I can throw. I have been working out daily to strengthen my arm so I can pitch and have a successful senior year of baseball.

BHS_Baseball_Logo_4Color_For_Flag

Besides my injury, I was very excited to start baseball on Monday. I am looking forward to competing on a daily basis and going to war with my teammates. I am looking forward to starting over with a new coaching staff and new teammates. I am even looking forward to sitting on the bench wearing my jersey with the word Beavers written across while eating my favorite sunflower seeds, Salted Caramel-flavored. Overall, I am beyond excited for my senior year of baseball.

Leave a Reply

